About us

The M. Sc. Microbiology programme was started at Tribhuvan University in 1990 for the first time in Nepal at the Central Department of Microbiology, Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur. The course structure of the programme was changed in 1999 and revised in 2008 and 2009. However, the course was based on the annual examination system. The course structure of the programme was changed into semester system in 2013.Therefore, this is a revised semester system credit based course curriculum to make it more competitive and research oriented.

This revision in curriculum has been done to vertically align the M.Sc. microbiology course with the four year bachelor of science (B.Sc.) in microbiology course curriculum. The present curriculum is designed to upgrade M.Sc. microbiology degree of Institute of Science and Technology, Tribhuvan University to international level in accordance to current advances in microbiology. The new curriculum emphasizes on research based teaching learning practice. The new M.Sc. microbiology degree programme will be semester system credit based as per international trend. The present curriculum aims to produce qualified microbiologists, molecular biologists, researchers and scientists as per national and international demand. The master's degree holders will be able to use skills of modern molecular biology techniques in basic science research or in applied research areas of microbiology. The graduates will be able to work as a qualified scientist for investigating the potential uses of microorganisms to produce antibiotics, antibodies, steroids, vaccines, hormones and other products of microbial origin. The master's degree holders will be able to work as a microbiologist and research scientist in the laboratories for monitoring, identifying and helping to control infectious diseases. They will also be able to work as qualified researchers and scientists in the institutions related to food production, crop protection and soil fertility. The master's degree holders will be eligible to be the lecturers of microbiology programme offered by Institute of Science and Technology and other institutions of Tribhuvan University or other universities for teaching, mentoring and supervising bachelors and masters' level microbiology students.